Company relationship permissions by role and by action

A company relationship describes how your organization relates to another company. Users define a relationship in the company information, or Bitsight defines it through Vendor Discovery and fourth party identification. Users define fourth party relationships on the Manage Service Providers page (select Settings, then Manage Service Providers). A user's role determines who can define company relationships and manage service providers. This article lists the company relationships permissions for each role and for each action.

Roles referenced on this page: Users with the Admin, Group Admin, Portfolio Manager, Operations, Internal Business User, User, or View Only role.

What can my role do?

Use this section to find everything a specific role can and can't do with company relationships. For a breakdown by action instead, see By action below.

What can an Admin do with company relationships?
  • Can define your organization's company relationship with another company.
  • Can define fourth party relationships on the Manage Service Providers page and view the service providers added.
What can a Group Admin do with company relationships?
  • Can define company relationships for companies subscribed to their group.
  • Can define fourth party relationships on the Manage Service Providers page and view the service providers added.
What can a Portfolio Manager do with company relationships?
  • Can define company relationships for companies subscribed to their group.
  • Can define fourth party relationships on the Manage Service Providers page and view the service providers added.
What can an Operations user do with company relationships?
  • Company relationships permissions do not apply to this role.
What can an Internal Business User do with company relationships?
  • Company relationships permissions do not apply to this role.
What can a User do with company relationships?
  • Cannot define company relationships.
  • Can define fourth party relationships on the Manage Service Providers page and view the service providers added.
What can a View Only user do with company relationships?
  • Company relationships permissions do not apply to this role.

By action

Permissions key

✅ = Is permitted.

❌ = Not permitted.

➖ = Not applicable and not permitted.

Define your organization's 
company relationship with 
another company

✅ Admins can define relationships for any company.

✅ Group Admins and Portfolio Managers can define relationships for companies subscribed to their group only.

❌ Users cannot do this.

➖ Not applicable to Internal Business Users, Operations, and View Only.
 

Manage service providers

✅ Admins, Group Admins, Portfolio Managers, and Users can do this.

➖ Not applicable to Internal Business Users, Operations, and View Only.

Please note that only your organization can see the service providers you add.
 

Publish Date or Recent Edits
  • November 25, 2024: Separated from User Permissions and added VRM/TMH roles.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.